Behind the scenes at Orlando Shakespeare Theater

My Summer With Mr. Shakespeare

The Orlando Shakespeare Theater has always been a home of sorts to me. I grew up watching theater, which naturally meant that any theater I spent an extended time period at automatically became home. My mom started taking me to full productions when I was six years old. I sat quietly, taking in every moment; I didn’t want to miss a thing. I distinctly remember the day my mom decided I was prepared to see more mature productions. I was introduced to the brilliance of Sondheim in Orlando Shakespeare’s production of Into The Woods. I can still vividly remember the performances given by Steven Lane, Melissa Mason Braillard, and Anne Hering as the Wolf, Little Red, and Jack’s Mother, respectively. They captivated me and made me believe the story they were creating. That day they became my “heroes of the stage”, as I like to call it. I was mesmerized by live theater, which held a magical quality that was unlike anything I had ever experienced.

This week, as I came into my first day of work at Orlando Shakes, I felt a little like Dorothy peeking behind the curtain to discover the Wizard. While the day to day workings of a non-profit business may not be quite as glamorous as the productions that happen on it’s stages, it isn’t any less magical. I am now a part of the team that created the magic that entranced me years ago, and continues to mesmerize me. As I move forward with this summer-long internship, I have one thing on my mind as I work; an image of a twelve year old girl that walks through the door and doesn’t know who created all of this magic, but believes in it anyway. It feels good to be home.


Tess Carr-10 e webTess Carr is a recent graduate of Valencia College with a degree in American Sign Language Interpretation. She is also a local actor, having performed most recently at the Orlando Fringe Festival. You might have seen her on some local stages including the Orlando Repertory Theatre, Mad Cow Theatre, Athens, and Central Florida Community Arts, just to name a few. After her summer as Marketing Intern at the Orlando Shakespeare Theater, she plans to attend The University of North Florida in Jacksonville to complete her bachelor’s degree in political science. 

 
Leave a Reply

