Behind the scenes at Orlando Shakespeare Theater

Daggers and Puppets, oh my!

Brandon, Rudy, Kraig, and Ryan in Cymbeline

Hey Everyone!

The past few weeks have been really full and exciting for me. Both Romeo and Juliet and Cymbeline are finally open, some fantastic reviews are in, and the Rep is truly underway. While things are lightening up a bit with the rehearsal aspect of my internship, other areas are getting intense. About twenty people are taking a class at Orlando Shakes to get SAFD Certified in Rapier and Dagger. This is a great skill to have on your resume, and since one of my goals is to become a more physical actor, I’m really excited about this opportunity. It’s a challenge for your body, mind, and a test in collaboration, as your safety is in your fight partner’s hands. My partner is another intern, Michael Schenefelt, and we’re working on a scene from Hamlet. Through 30 hours of classes, we will learn a fight, break it down, and reapply it to our scene, all to appear before a judge to recieve our certification.

My parents were here for a week, and they really enjoyed their stay in Orlando. They were quite impressed with the quality of the shows, and I was happy to show them around and help them see a little aspect of what I’ve been doing here these past seven months. Seven months! Wow! I can’t believe it’s been that long already, as I’m heading into the final stretch of my time here. We just wrapped up Saturday community classes, and are starting a new round in a few weeks. I’ll be teaching Puppet Play, with Education Staff member Lisa Horohoe. Also, the announcement of Charlotte’s Web casting is just on the horizon, so stayed tuned!

Til Next Time,
Ryan
Acting/Education Intern, Orlando Shakespeare Theater
Leave a Reply

