Behind the scenes at Orlando Shakespeare Theater

“Let life happen to you…”

“Let life happen to you. Believe me: life is in the right, always.” ― Rainer Maria Rilke

This was the first time I’ve ever had to spend Thanksgiving completely away from my family, and it wasn’t the easiest thing to do, so I’ve been in a bit of a soul-searching mood lately. I took an Adult Acting Class at Orlando Shakes taught by the wonderful Suzanne O’Donnell and a book on her recommended inspirational reading list was “Letters to a Young Poet”, by Rainer Maria Rilke. I’m a literary guy, so I decided to check it out, and it was a very moving read. From dealing with yourself as an artist and human being, to the topics of uncertainty, fear, and love, this book really gave a sense of perspective and calm, especially at such a hectic and uncharted time in my life.

Ryan and Carlene

Ryan and Carlene - A Tuna Christmas Dressers

Brad Frost, another Acting Intern, and myself are the understudy/dressers for A Tuna Christmas, which has finally opened!!! After a rigorous, but smooth tech over the Thanksgiving weekend, we are up and running and I couldn’t feel more accomplished or proud of my backstage work. Positions like dressers, wardrobe, and assistant stage managers are truly the unsung heroes of theatre, especially in shows like Tuna that have literally over 50 quick changes. The actors are true athletes, and it’s been a wonderful experience watching their process of growing into the many characters in the show.

Carlene - A Tuna Christmas Dresser

Carlene - A Tuna Christmas Dresser

I’m learning so much, reading alot, strengthening my relationships with my friends, and looking forward to the future. The repertory productions of Romeo and Juliet and Cymbeline are going into rehearsal shortly, and I am so excited for the new influx of actors from all over the country, and of many different backgrounds and disciplines. The winter round of Youth Classes will be starting soon, and I will be teaching Shakespeare to high schoolers! I never could have dreamed I would be doing this a year ago, it’s really something to be thankful for at this time of year.

Wigs

Arles Struvie - A Tuna Christmas Wigs

Happy Holidays!(so far),

Ryan, Orlando Shakes Intern Extraordinaire

Leave a Reply

