Behind the scenes at Orlando Shakespeare Theater

God of Pastries

“So, Clafouti, is it a cake or a tart? Serious question.” – God of Carnage

My first week at Orlando Shakes was daunting from the start. Not only was I still adjusting from my move to Orlando, but now I had a whole new workplace in my midst. New people, new office, and new responsibilities.  To intern here had been a dream of mine since my freshman year in high school when my class took a trip to see A Midsummer Night’s Dream at Lake Eola.

My job is in the marketing department and I work for two talented ladies, Melissa and Betsy.  One of my first assignments was to locate clafouti for the props department.

“I’m sorry….what did you want me to do?”

They described to me that clafouti was some sort of French pastry or tart.

Pear Clafouti

According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, clafouti is “a dessert consisting of a layer of fruit (as cherries) topped with batter and baked.” In the play God of Carnage, it is something that is talked about and served during the show.

So off I went into a phone blitz contacting every bakery in Orlando and the surrounding areas. With over 30 establishments on my list, surely this would be a simple task. Tons of bakeries would serve this pastry, we would weigh our options, figure out price points, etc.  Little did I know that this would prove to be much more difficult than I had anticipated.

If I actually got ahold of a bakery (several numbers were disconnected), most had no idea of what I was talking about. Even many French places came up empty. Two pastry shops sold clafouti, but they were both a smidge above our price range. One joint was willing to work with us, but after weeks of phone calls and faxes, the plan fell through.

In the end, after our exhaustive search, we settled on having a few of the Orlando Shakes staff bake the treat. These brave souls will provide 2 full tarts, twice a week, for 5 weeks (including tech week and the entire run).

If you have the opportunity to see God of Carnage, you’ll see all this hard work in action. We always want to ensure quality for our audiences – whether it’s from the actors, sets, costumes, or props.  But this time around, there will be a little extra love in the form of a pastry.

Now let’s just hope it will taste good for the actors…(I kid, I know it will be delicious!)

Until next time,
A’riel T.

P.S.  If you feel inspired to try clafouti yourself, here’s a sample recipe.

Leave a Reply

