Behind the scenes at Orlando Shakespeare Theater

One Month in Orlando: Disney, Park Avenue, and Earnest

Hey again! Hope everyone’s had a good week, I know I have!

So I’ve been in Orlando for just over a month, though it seems much longer. The summer heat is receding a bit, and now that the interns’ intensive is over, auditions are done, and I’ve settled into office hours, I’m starting to feel a bit more comfortable in my surroundings. It’s been a really liberating experience so far, and with each day, I continue to define who I am as an artist, a post-college graduate, and a human being.

I spent last week postering around Orlando for the marketing department, and I feel as though I’m starting to become a part of this community. I love the College and Winter Park areas, sitting at White Wolf Cafe or Credo drinking coffee and reading a play, or heading out The Wine Room or Redlight Redlight for drinks. I’m looking forward to seeing some indie flicks at the Enzian and maybe taking a dance class at the Orlando Ballet or some classes at College Park Yoga. The interns have been working on goals and mission statements, and I really feel as if I finally have a clear enough head in this city to start sorting out what is neccessary for me to do and who I am in relation to Orlando Shakes, my newfound friends and ensemble, and myself as a young professional actor. I couldn’t have picked a more fulfilling and beneficial way to strike out on my own for the first time.

At the theatre, everyone is getting ready for the Opening Season Gala Celebration, which I am so excited for, and Opening Night of The Importance of Being Earnest. I’m also trying to organize the $20 Under 30 event, where if you are under 30 years of age, you get to experience a great night of theatre for just 20 dollars! On the horizon, rehearsals for Miss Nelson is Missing and God of Carnage will begin soon, and I couldn’t be more ecstatic.

This afternoon, I got the opportunity to watch the tech and creative teams set up the Act 2 set for The Importance of Being Earnest.  Here’s a behind the scenes peek:

I watched Julie Taymor’s film of “Titus” last night, and I am truly inspired. To communicate Shakespeare and classic texts in a vital and stirring way to contemporary audiences is a daunting task. The oldest stories are still the most compelling. Love, vengeance, redemption…themes that are just as applicable and meaningful to today’s world as they were in Shakespeare’s time. I am so grateful to find my goals and dreams coming true…speaking of, the interns took a trip to DisneyWorld on Labor Day. We rode some great rides, saw some amazing performances, and had an-all around fantastic time!

Disney Day!

Disney Day!

Disney Day 2

Disney Day 2

I’m reading “The Picture of Dorian Gray” currently to get a better feel for what Oscar Wilde is all about it, and it’s really engrossing. The way he talks about art is just…effortless. The best reads are when indescribable truths about your own self are laid out on a page in front of you, simply, and beautifully. I’m working on getting some Shakespeare and contemporary monologues together for future auditions as one of my goals, and I am inspired and on fire with art and imagination.

Here’s to another great week at the theatre!

—-

About Ryan Czerwonko: 

Ryan Czerwonko

Ryan Czerwonko

Ryan, our 2011/2012 acting/education intern here at Orlando Shakes, will blog weekly throughout his nine month internship at the theater.  A recent graduate from Ohio University with a BFA in Theatre Performance, Ryan is slated to appear onstage Adam in Miss Nelson is Missing He is currently understudying Merriman/Lane in The Importance of Being Earnest, as well as Michael Raleigh in God of Carnage, Look for more casting announcements soon!

Leave a Reply

