Behind the scenes at Orlando Shakespeare Theater

A New Season at Orlando Shakes!

Hello everybody!
Fall is upon us, and with that comes a new season of exciting theater and events at the Orlando Shakespeare Theater! My name is Ryan Czerwonko, and I am a new acting/education intern here at Orlando Shakes, and I would like to welcome and invite you all to come along for the ride with me on this blog as I spend my nine month internship at the theater.

Ryan Czerwonko

Ryan Czerwonko

I graduated from Ohio University in June, with a BFA in Theatre Performance. OU taught me alot about theater, people, and life and I was lucky enough to have been selected as one of the seven interns that are currently working at the company. I spent the whole summer anxiously awaiting my trip to Orlando, and arrived to find a beautiful city filled with life, art, and opportunity. I’ve been officially working at the theatre for almost a month now, and so far, it has been a mind-blowing, extremely valuable experience.

The Dining Room at Monomoy Theatre

The Dining Room at Monomoy Theatre

In addition to becoming an enthusiastic member of a new ensemble, I find myself taking on a number of new roles and challenges with each and every day. One is that of a student. Here at the theater, the interns are given classes on Shakespeare, the business of the theater world, and are currently workshopping a seven person production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream to tour to schools. This brings me to my second duty as an intern. We have just finished a two week intensive in teacher training. The interns teach Saturday Community classes for from PreK through high school on a variety of subjects, such as storytelling, makeup, and audition classes. Our first class is next Saturday, and I am eager to put my skills to the test. Teaching young children seemed like a daunting task to me at first, but Orlando Shakes has equipped with me what I need mentally and skillwise to successfully translate my abilities to the classroom.

I didn’t always have the greatest opportunities to experience theater growing up, and I am thrilled to be able to give someone younger than me some insight and something to strive for in the theater world. Most exciting of all, the interns get to be in and understudy a number of roles in the Orlando Shakes season…I am currently understudying Merriman/Lane in The Importance of Being Earnest, as well as Michael Raleigh in God of Carnage, and I am cast as Adam in Miss Nelson is Missing. We recently auditioned for the two Rep shows, as well as Playfest/Three by Tenn:Free Reading Series and I am eagerly anticipating the casting announcements.

I also help out in the Marketing Department, which is how you find me writing this blog. I will be updating weekly with a new entry about my experience here at the theater, and how you can become a part of that experience. This week, I got to drive around the city, in areas such as Winter Park, College Park, Lake Eola, and Downtown postering for The Importance of Being Earnest and getting to know my community.

I am so happy to be here, and I am looking forward to a great season! See you next week!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

